The War on Raw Milk — Justified or Unfairly Demonized???

I had never heard about raw milk until my daughter was about 10 months old.  I was still breastfeeding and pumping at least 3 times a day.  Like many mothers, my supply regulated and the hormones that were generated to release my milk were no longer present simply through pumping.  I considered every 4 ounces I pumped, 3 hours of “Mommy Time” so I desperately needed to find something that would provide her with the nutrition we desired for her.

My Uncle, an excellent chiropractor who has owned his own practice for about 30 years, mentioned raw milk as a 2nd place alternative to breast milk.  I looked into it and decided it would be worth trying.  I went to Marlene’s Natural Deli in Federal Way and purchased my first gallon of straight-from-the-cow-to-the-bottle, raw, unpasteurized milk.  It was $11 per gallon and I’d never consider paying that much for a gallon of milk but because it was for my daughter, I didn’t think twice.  It was from Dungeness Valley Creamery, out of Sequim, WA.  Once I had a taste of it, I never looked back.  It was absolutely delicious and unlike any other milk I’d ever had.  Better yet, our daughter loved it too.

What makes it so special?  It’s simple.  There are vitamins, minerals and digestive enzymes in milk and when you pasteurize it, it kills not just the harmful bacteria but also the “good bacteria” that help you digest it.  What you’re left with is a shell of its original self.  It barely resembles food.  Raw milk is a wholly, un-fooled around with food that is more nutrient-dense than just about anything you’ll find.

Jersey Cow

We started buying it regularly and I starting seeking out more and more information about it.  Why had I never even heard of it until now?  And further, why when I mentioned it to others would they get this shocked look on their face when I told them we were giving it to our daughter?  “Aren’t you afraid of what’s in it?”  they’d ask?  The conventional wisdom has shifted to “the more pasteurized, the better.”

What I learned is that this precious whole food, much like many of the other things we’ve traditionally cherished in our society, has been interfered with by politicians, lobbyists, and Big Food.  There have been many pieces of legislation in all 50 states to try and get raw milk outlawed and some have succeeded.  I can say that you do not want to drink raw milk that is intended for pasteurization because the entire process is significantly less clean simply because they know they’re going to cook the hell out of it which will destroy everything.  Raw milk dairies on the other hand, are some of the cleanest places you’ll find in the farming industry.

The point is, just give all of us consumers/citizens the information and allow us to decide if the benefits outweigh the risks.  I always reject it when the government thinks they know best and that we all need to be taken care of.  Raw milk has been one of the greatest things we’ve ever stumbled upon as a family.  If you suffer from digestive conditions such as IBS or even lactose intolerance, please inform yourself about raw milk.  Below are some resources to learn more.

About Raw Milk: Dungeness Valley Creamery

A letter from Dr. Ronald L. Garthwaite, BA, MA, PhD Owner, Claravale Farm

Where to find raw milk in your area

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dara Manderville
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 20:11:36

    Heidi, ever since you brought this to our attention last month we have been talking about it. Because Wayne suffers (horribly) from IBS, I think we are going to give it a try. I have checked out a few of the dairies in Washington State and have come to the conclusion that they are cleaner than my house!!!

    I will let you know the verdict!!!

    • Pacific Think Tees
      Apr 26, 2011 @ 22:20:59

      Yes, please do! The more you look into it, the more it makes you question the motives of the people who are trying to make it so difficult to distribute. And I don’t know about your house but they’re DEFINITELY cleaner than ours!

Archive

